Christmas Meme-ories

Since I’ve been dually tagged with a Christmas meme, I guess I pretty much have to acquiesce.  I am, after all, a Christmas Baby (my birthday’s tomorrow) and one of those people that most other people want to shoot for singing Christmas carols in August, and I love this time of year.  And I’ve not done a meme in quite some time, so here you go:  

1. Wrapping or gift bags?

Yes, both. 

2. Real or artificial tree?

Depends on the year.  Norm and I always have a real tree, but we’re both getting sick and tired of vaccuuming pine needles every freakin’ day. 

3. When do you put up the tree?

Day after Thanksgiving.  This is all Norm’s doing, I take no responsibility for the tree being up so soon. 

4. When do you take the tree down?

New Year’s Day.  Again, the boy has a routine he likes to keep to.  Gets it from his mother.  Oh, don’t get me started.

5. Do you like eggnog?

Yep.  A little Bailey’s in it doesn’t hurt, either. 

6. Favorite gift received as a child?

Set of classic books from my parents when I was 9.  I still have them, and they were my very first hardcover books.  The set includes:

  • A Wrinkle In Time
  • Charlie And The Chocolate Factory
  • International Velvet
  • Little House on the Prairie
  • The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe

(And the first person to make a derogatory comment about Little House on the Prairie gets de-linked and disowned.  That’s my prerogative as resident bitch here.  Don’t mess with my Laura.  Nobody was Wilder than she was.) 

7. Do you have a nativity scene?

Several.  Not counting the actual animals outside. 

8. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

Probably some ugly piece of clothing.  I would never say that to someone who gave me a gift, however.  I was taught to be thankful no matter what I was given.  (No wonder my mom-in-law says I’m so easy to buy for.)

9. Mail or email Christmas cards?

Neither.  I tried doing Christmas cards once a few years ago.  They’re still addressed and in the same box.  I don’t even know some of those people anymore.  We’d rather visit people or call them. 

10. Favorite Christmas Movie?

A Christmas Carol starring George C. Scott

11. When do you start shopping for Christmas?

Oh, shit, I knew I forgot something.

12. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

Believe it or not, Peach Blossoms.  (And evidently I’m not the only one, because the gift tins are SOLD OUT at the link!)

13. Clear lights or colored on the tree?

Again, depends on the year, and Norm’s mood.  I just put on the ornaments.  (Although I pick up a new one each year that we’re together.  Well, those years that I remember to.)

14. Favorite Christmas song?

Walkin’ Round in Women’s Underwear.  No, I don’t, the song’s just funny.  Lyrics:

  Lacy things the wife is missin’
Didn’t ask for her permission
I’m wearing her clothes
Her silk pantyhose
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear

In the store there’s a teddy
With little straps like spaghetti
It holds me so tight
Like handcuffs at night
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear

In the office there’s a guy named Melvin
He pretends that I am Murphy Brown
He’ll say “Are you ready?” we’ll say “Whoa, man!
Let’s wait until the wife is out of town”

Later on if you wanna
We can dress like Madonna
Put on some eye shade
And join the parade
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear

Lacy things…missin’
Didn’t ask…permission
Wearing her clothes…Silk pantyhose
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear
Walkin’ ’round in women’s underwear

And here are the rules:
1. Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.
2. Share Christmas facts about yourself.
3. Tag random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.
4. Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

I hereby tag:

Brian

Nick

Wayne  (and you all HAVE to watch the Elf Dance)

Jeff

2 thoughts on “Christmas Meme-ories

  1. Okay…….Everyone knows I don’t do meme’s………
    BUT……..in the spirit of the holiday, I’ll do it.. But only cause your too cute!
    But work is soooo crazy, it’ll have to wait a while.
    And I will get you back!!!!

Leave a comment