OY!L

OY.

Runaway oil prices blew past $130 a barrel for the first time Wednesday and kept going, while gasoline prices persisted in their own relentless climb, rising above $3.80 a gallon. Supply worries, rising demand and a slumping dollar are conspiring to make filling up the car _ and paying for just about everything else _ a growing burden for Americans.

F-ing. 

“[T]he prices that we’re paying at the pump today are, I think, going to be ‘the good old days,’ because others who watch this very closely forecast that we’re going to be hitting $12 and $15 per gallon,” Hirsch said. “And then, after that, when oil world oil production goes into decline, we’re going to talk about rationing. In other words, not only are we going to be paying high prices and have considerable economic problems, but in addition to that, we’re not going to be able to get the fuel when we want it.”

VEY!

Retail gas prices hit record highs for the 15th day in a row, motorist group AAA’s Web site showed Thursday.

The nationwide average for a gallon of regular unleaded rose to $3.831, up from $3.807 the previous day.

Gas prices have now risen for 16 straight days.

The AAA national average shows gas prices up about 9% from a month ago and up nearly 19% from year-ago levels.

I don’t know about you, but I didn’t get a 19% raise this year.  Far from it. 

I drive 45 miles each way from home to work every day, five days a week.  Yesterday, leaving work, I went directly to the gas station where I paid 3.79 a gallon.  Going down the road, I noticed that the signs had been changed on some gas stations, but not others, to reflect the uptick in oil prices:  one Mobil station read $3.95, a Gulf across the road read $3.92, and yet another Mobil station about a mile further on read $3.85 (they must’ve been slow on the uptake, that last one!). 

I really need to get a job that allows me to work from home.  Gas costs are killing me.  How about you?  Let’s hear your horror stories in the comments.

6 thoughts on “OY!L

  1. I drive 25 miles each way and though my cost have doubled it’s not killing me yet. But I know more and more people are eyeing jobs closer to home.

  2. Sorry, I don’t think it’s all that horrible. Using your 90 mile round trip number, and working full time with no days off, I would pay an additional $4.81/day when gas is at $4.00/gallon gas vs gas at $2.50/gallon (assuming gas mileage of 20mpg).

    And this bugs me:

    “And then, after that, when oil – world oil production goes into decline, we’re going to talk about rationing. In other words, not only are we going to be paying high prices and have considerable economic problems, but in addition to that, we’re not going to be able to get the fuel when we want it.”

    Oh the dreaded R word. Rationing. People get ideas of lining up to buy scarce products. But as is stated later in the article, this is the rarely mentioned “price induced” rationing. Meaning that if the price goes too high, people will quit buying it and find cheaper alternatives. In other words, supply and demand.

  3. See, I understand that gas is expensive and that everyone is to blame other than me and a select few people I’ve single handedly chosen to live through the coming avian flu plague (which can’t get here fast enough, in my humble opinion) to repopulate the world. But if gas is so damn expensive, can someone tell me why when I drive on highways, setting my cruise at the speed limit, people in SUVs and trucks are still flying by me like I’m standing still and, occasionally flipping me off like it’s my fault for obeying the damn law?

    Seriously, I find it hard to take that serious, all the stories of sadness swirling around high gas and food prices, while people are still behaving irresponsibly.

  4. But if gas is so damn expensive, can someone tell me why when I drive on highways, setting my cruise at the speed limit, people in SUVs and trucks are still flying by me like I’m standing still and, occasionally flipping me off like it’s my fault for obeying the damn law?

    I’m one of those people like you: as soon as I’m on the interstate I set the cruise at 60mph, and people fly by me on the right. However the line of cars staying behind me and not passing has been steadily getting longer and longer as gas goes up.

    I think people are just too damned fat and lazy to get off their collective ass and leave early enough to drive slower, even though the gas price is killing them.

    And John, something about your math doesn’t jibe, and I can’t tell you what. All I know is that my (one-year old) Saturn Ion gets 32mpg hwy, and I’m now putting in $50 a week instead of $30 that I used to for gas. That extra $80 comes out of my food bill because I have very little liquidity and it has to come from somewhere.

    Norm doesn’t make much because he’s a farm boy with a limited education, and it barely makes sense for him to commute (almost the same distance as me) for the little bit he makes over his gas cost.

    And we’ve sold two horses already. Things are tight.

  5. I’m now putting in $50 a week instead of $30 that I used to for gas. That extra $80 comes out of my food bill

    If you were paying $30/week before and you are now paying $50/week, that is an extra $20/week (not $80)or a little less than $3.00/day

Leave a Reply

