On Chopsticks

We went out for Chinese Buffet last night, and this struck me as funny.  Here’s the exact text of the wrapper my chopsticks came in:

Welcome to Chinese Restaurant.  Please try your Nice Chinese Food With Chopsticks the traditional and typical of Chinese glonous history and cultual.

And on the other side, the typos are even worse:

Learn how to use your chopsticks

Tuk under tnurnb and held firmly

Add second chcostick hold it as you hold a pencil

Hold tirst chopstick in original position move the second one up and down Now you can pick up anything:

 

8 thoughts on “On Chopsticks

  1. I always use chopsticks when eating Chinese food. I can’t get Norm to do it (he says it’s too difficult) but I seem to manage very well.

    And I love the looks I get from kids in the restaurant when they see me shoveling in food with chopsticks.

  2. I went to a wedding reception once in which the dinner was Chinese food. It seemed like all the Chinese guests used forks while the others used chopsticks.

    It took me a while to get the hang of chopsticks, but I just use a plain old-fashioned fork now.

  3. It varies. I don’t mind using chopsticks, especially given that some of the more…..”authentic”…places around here don’t even HAVE forks on the table…..but it does get old after a while.

    But now I’m hungry. Maybe I’ll have to take the husbear out for a midweek meal, especially since he’s all out of sorts about his upcoming travel and teaching, and we can go to our favorite Chinese place.

    (Yes, the food is good. But the man-watching is excellent)

  4. When it comes to eating, I’m kind of a snob about etiquette. There goes my chances of becoming President of the United States. That, and the fact that I enjoy a sausage from time to time (ahem).

    Any Chinese restaurant that offers me a fork before I even ask for one, I tend to expect “Panda Express” quality fare. Of course, I’m sometimes pleasantly surprised. But it’s certainly not a good omen.

    Likewise, if I walk into a Japanese restaurant and they offer me a spoon for my miso soup, I know it’s likely to go downhill from there. Traditionally, you’re supposed to slurp it. The other major no-no is presenting sashimi with lemon wedges; it implies that they’re trying to mask the smell because the fish isn’t fresh.

  5. I remember a friend and I were at a local sushi restaurant several years ago. She’s Thai and very obviously so and was teaching me about the intricacies of raw fish. We has just been served our miso soup. Our server mistook us for a young dating couple and, when I lifted the spoon to tuck into the miso, she proceeded to go off on my friend about how I would never make a good husband without a good wife to teach me how things were done and generally reading her the riot act on letting me make such a fool of myself. With a great sigh, she gave us both etiquette lessons on how to, I guess, ceremonially drink the soup (picking it up and turning it three times, etc.). I was terribly amused by the whole thing, but after she walked away and my friend had a moment to consider, she yelled over her shoulder, “I’m Thai, Bitch, and we were smart enough to invent goddamn spoons!” and pulled me out of the restaurant never to return.

    I don’t know if that’s really true or not, about the Thai inventing spoons, but frankly I’ve never had the courage to ask.

  6. I often think its amusing that in the US many Thai resturants have to stock up on chop sticks because Americans insist on them, without relaizing that Thai’s don’t use chopsticks.

    Another funny thing about chopsticks is that they were never meant to be used with flate plates but you see Americans use them with flate plates all the time – generally making a mess.

Leave a Reply

