Diet Soda Makes You Fat

Okay, I’m paraphrasing.  But this definitely fits into the “irony” category:

A Purdue University study released Sunday in the journal Behavioral Neuroscience reported that rats on diets containing the artificial sweetener saccharin gained more weight than rats given sugary food, casting doubt on the benefits of low-calorie sweeteners.

I wonder if it has to do with the Large Fries and Big Mac consumed with that Supersized Diet Coke? 

Oh, and my favorite quote from the article:

Anything you put in your mouth, your body has a strong reaction to it.

Well, DUH!  lol

10 thoughts on “Diet Soda Makes You Fat

  1. Jamie, the conclusion in the article doesn’t surprise me that much. They’re finding that rats who have the artificial sweeteners tend to overeat more than the other rats. So yes, the fries and the Big Mac seem to be the real culprit. I suppose if you can drink diet soda and successfully fight off the increasing desire for more food that diet soda allegedly does, I guess diet soda won’t make one more fat.

    Even so, certain foods do have a role in metabolism. I find that by simply eating a salad everyday without changing anything else in my diet, I lose some weight. Unfortunately, that doesn’t do the whole trick, so I do need to cut down on food and/or make better choices when it comes to food.

  2. Interesting.

    I switched from regular soda to diet about 5 years ago, back when I was working out regularly. Of course, I quit smoking for a few months at that time as well, so my body was going through some upheaval.

    I still drink the diet soda to this day (although I drink more water than anything else) and I’ve found that it’s more of an “everything in moderation” attitude that keeps me feeling healthy. I don’t eat much fast food, and when I do it’s mostly chinese or burgers–I just can’t bring myself to eat french fries if we’re not making them at home. Usually we cook meals for each other, have fresh fruit (apples and bananas and canteloupes and pineapples) and vary our intake so that we’re eating something different all of the time.

    Of course, I do the grocery shopping, and I like to make sure that we have a good deal of varied foods to make meals from. Frozen veggies are a good shortcut, and we do eat a lot of healthy food. It’s the sweets that get me every time.

    And I get good exercise from feeding the horses and working outside. If I could just quit smoking . . .

  3. Personally, I think it’s a bit of short-circuiting; our taste buds direct what we want to eat, but they rely on the fact that putting sugar into your bloodstream decreases your hunger.

    With artificial sweeteners, things taste good, but they don’t cause the same spikes — and thus, you would not get satisfied as quickly.

    That, and you’re right, Jamie; I can’t count the number of times I’ve seen someone order a double burger, fries, and then ask for a diet Coke “’cause I need to watch my weight”.

  4. Like I said, I rarely get the fries. I do get the diet coke and doublecheeseburger–but I convince myself that “Hey, it’s protein!”

    Luckily I’ve never been all that fond of McD’s et al. I’d rather have a salad bar at the local store, to be honest.

  5. One only has to look at the science research of artificial sweeteners (aspartame is a brain excitotoxin) to understand that it gives one a brain energy crash setting off a desire for sweet hi-cal food.
    The reason you don’t see much in the way of scare stories in the main stream press, is that Monsanto sue any and every publication that even questions it’s fine in the 70s for fraudulent safety tests, oh yes and the Americans also used Aspartame as a nerve agent… sounds as American as Low-Cal Apple pie. Enjoy
    Be patriotic and visit http://www.mercola.com/forms/sweet_misery.htm

  6. I quit diet coke when this study came out and the weight is falling off of me! I have come down 4 sizes with little to no effort, as I am just not that hungry anymore. Evil Diet Cola! Stay away!

Leave a Reply

