Attention NH Democrats

I keep hearing, even from the most unexpected quarters, that Obama is the one to vote for in the presidential election. 

Could someone please get me some of the Kool-aid?  I seem to have been in the other room when it was handed out. 

I have to say that I’m very disappointed that Joe Biden has dropped out of the running.  Perhaps America–or at least the Democrat side of America–is tired of old white men running the show.  I can certainly understand that reasoning. 

But I’m not buying Obama’s schtick.  As they say up here, you can’t bullshit a bullshitter.  There is something too polished, too refined about this man to be believable.  Checking his record–what little there is–makes me wonder just how he’s going to accomplish all of these wonderful ideas he’s espousing.  His website has a video in which he talks all about “hope” and “change.” 

Great.  More hope.  Just what we need. 

But not all we need.  

If you wanted someone who truly represents anti-war and pro-change, you should’ve voted for Kucinich.  At least we all know he’s honest about his views.  No one could be that much to the left and be lying about it.    Poor Dennis, however, was missing something, that elegance, that delivery and timing, that Barack has coming out his ears.  Ah, hope & charm.  Now why does that sound familiar? 

I know it’s not particularly pleasing to hear, especially if you’re a Democrat these days, but hope doesn’t put bread on the table.  Hope doesn’t eliminate threats to our national security.  And while I need only move 6 miles north to be in Canada if Fuckabee is elected (Lord, NO!), with incidents like this occuring I would rather have even Hillary Clinton as the one with a finger on the button than someone who declared he is ready to parlay with the enemy as if life were a mediocre Johnny Depp movie. 

Barack Obama may well be an excellent President of the United States . . . someday.  But take a minute and think of this: if you wouldn’t trust your own kid with your new car before they’re an experienced driver who’s learned the nuances of the road, then why would you trust a stranger with your country before he’d learned the nuances of Washington?  Because the political reality is this: no matter who the next president is, once elected, he or she becomes an insider, and will use the existing machinery as best possible to further their agenda.  And I, for one, want someone who’s already seen how badly that machinery can fuck up before they do it on the fly. 

The good senator has only been one for a little while now, and while he’s attached his name to a few bills, I can’t find much of significance.  More importantly, I don’t see much initiative on his part in getting things done–and by God, as screwed up as this country is right now we need someone with some ideas of how to accomplish something.  (Again, I’m extremely missing Joe Biden right about now). 

If you want a president who just makes you feel good, vote for me and I’ll buy you a six-pack (If I win, only if I win!).  If you want someone who’ll make a difference–well, just make sure they actually will and have a plan on how to do it.  That’s not too much to ask, is it?

11 thoughts on “Attention NH Democrats

  1. Hope = Another Word for Prayer.

    That is, President-to-be Obama “hopes” that God will magically make everything better with America in 2009. How incredibly reassuring. I feel better already.

  2. If you want a president who just makes you feel good

    Worked for Reagan….

    Seriously, though, I do know what you mean. He’s baby-butt-smackin’ new, but at the same time, years of experience doesn’t always equate to a good President. And given the other choices, I’m starting to think that his inexperience can’t be any worse than everyone else’s…well, everything.

    GOP side, it’s shaping into the battle of the fucktards, with Mike Almighty and Heavenly Father’s Hairdo being unvotable. There’s Guiliani, but if I object to people still blaming Bill Clinton for things that are happening this year, then it seems somewhat hypocritical to endorse a candidate who’s platform appears to be made out of big, glossly letters spelling “9/11”. I could vote for Paul, he does…oh, hah, sorry, I couldn’t even type that without laughing. As for Thompson, if I’ve learned one thing from DVRing the America’s Next Top Supermodelathon on VH1, it’s that you better bring the fierce. Even by his own account, Thompson is bored and doesn’t want it. Seriously, there can only be 13 girls in the final run for America’s Next Top Model and if he doesn’t want it, then one of those spot should go to someone else. Besides, he needs to learn his angles better because the camera doesn’t love him.

    The Dems are no better. I support the hell out of Richardson, but have no illusions about him even getting to take a tour of the White House, let alone be a resident. I could vote for Kucinich because…well, because his wife is smokin’ hot and The Truth Is Out There (you just know his entire candidacy is a publicity stunt for the next X Files movie). The only reason I’d vote for Hillary would be if she threatened to come to my house, kill and eat my dog in front of me and then put my legs in a threshing machine…cause I fully believe she’d do that. Seriously, though, she’s got the same issue I’ve lambasted Bush on: She can’t apologize. She is so damn sure that she’s right that she’s not going to listen to anyone else and that’s exactly how we got into this mess in the first place. And while I’d be more than happy to vote for Elizabeth Edwards, I’m not sure with her cancer…wait, what’s that? She’s not running? Well, who is? Wait, what? She’s MARRIED? No way. To who? Who’s that? What do you mean he’s running for President? No, I’m sure there’s some mistake here. I mean, I know all of Elizabeth Edwards’ stances on the issues but I know nothing of this “John” person you speak about.

    Yes, this is all very snarky, I’ll admit, but seriously, can Obama’s inexperience be any graver a fault than those of every other single candidate out there? At least Obama seems to be able to learn from his mistakes…sort of. No matter who wins this year, they’re going to have a rough 2009, so maybe having the charisma to hold it together while getting some serious on-the-job training isn’t all that big a drawback?

    I’m not in his camp yet, but I am scouting RV sites just to see what’s available.

  3. Your two cricisms seem very shallow.

    I have not spent alot of time on it but I have looked at Obama’s website and he does have plans to do lots of stuff so your criticism about him having no ideas seems misplaced. Moreover, there are allot of presidents with less experience (Lincoln) or worse experience (Truman) that have been among the best.

  4. Obama is a very gifted public speaker. I agree with QJ, insofar as there are qualities to this man that’s very Ronald Reagan. This is especially true when he delivers a line like this:

    “We are a decent, generous people willing to work hard and sacrifice for future generations”

    Sure, anyone can read from a fluffy, cheery script. Hillary Clinton. John Edwards. Mitt Romney. Rudy Giuliani.

    But you believe it when Obama says it. And you believed it when Reagan said it too. It’s ironic that the 10 Republicans who tried so hard to emulate the Gipper couldn’t out-Reagan a Democrat.

    Having said that, I still have misgivings about Obama’s experience and commitment (from a rational, policy-based perspective). As Jamie points out, he barely has a record to consider because he would rather be absent than cast controversial votes. And he can talk about faith, belief, and hope to Middle America until hell freezes over. I can guarantee you that tone’s not going to enthrall Congess. I’m not ready to drink the Kool-Aid yet.

  5. Tommy, I never said he doesn’t have ideas. I said he has shown little initiative. He’s spent more time campaigning than legislating. If I were from Illinois I’d feel extremely used right now. And his legislative record, as I said, shows few bills initiated by Barack Obama. Grabbing onto good ideas that others initially propose is not leadership. Show me something he’s done, himself, that demonstrates leadership.

    I have tons of ideas as well, but I don’t think that necessarily makes me the best candidate for president right now. And Barack himself was the one that invited us all to “kick the tires.” Well, I’m kicking them. And so far, I’m not impressed.

  6. Perhaps I was misled when you wrote:

    “we need someone with some ideas of how to accomplish something.”

    . . . it seems you were looking for ideas and plans.

    As for “initiative”, hmm, I wonder how he got this far in life without having intiative?

  7. Two thoughts.

    But take a minute and think of this: if you wouldn’t trust your own kid with your new car before they’re an experienced driver who’s learned the nuances of the road, then why would you trust a stranger with your country before he’d learned the nuances of Washington? Because the political reality is this: no matter who the next president is, once elected, he or she becomes an insider, and will use the existing machinery as best possible to further their agenda. And I, for one, want someone who’s already seen how badly that machinery can fuck up before they do it on the fly.

    The fact that one needs prior political experience to be able to function in our governing system is, in my opinion, a problem in and of itself. Perhaps it’s time we rethink the complexity of what we’ve created, especially given the almost universal sentiment that that complexity and its associated bureaucracy are the biggest problems with our government.

    That being said, Obama is the black reincarnation of Jimmy Carter, and in my opinion, would be just as effective in office.

  8. The fact that one needs prior political experience to be able to function in our governing system is, in my opinion, a problem in and of itself.

    I agree, but I think that problem can be phased out of existence by mandating term limits for Congress–which would also greatly increase the amount of participation in the system.

    And I don’t know about the layout yet . . . I’m still guaging opinions, including my own. I don’t like that the sidebar slips beneath the individual posts except for on the front page. Hrmmm.

    Still, it’s either this one or the previous one. I do like the three column layout (and practically begged WordPress for one with a customizable header for a year to get it.)

    We’ll see.

  9. Tommy, I’m talking about the difference between ideas of what to do, and ideas of how to accomplish those goals. Barack has the former in abundance, but it’s the lack of the latter that concerns me.

Leave a Reply

