Attention Losers

Please note the spelling: L-O-S-E-R.  ONE “O.”  Not two. 

In the past couple of weeks I have seen this one word misspelled fifteen times at least.  So here’s a quick guide for your ass. 

The verb “To Lose” is conjugated as I lose, You lose, We lose, They lose. 

LOOSE, on the other hand, is the opposite of tight.  As in, “Your loose construction of sentences in the English language is making me lose my mind.” 

You are not “loosing” weight, you are losing weight.  You are not a “looser,” you’re a loser.  You may loosen your noose, but if you can’t keep these two completely different words straight then I don’t recommend it. 

After all, do you watch that show about the plane crash survivors on an island?  It’s called LOST, not LOOST.  That really seems simple enough to remember. 

Please make a fucking note of it. 

3 thoughts on “Attention Losers

  1. I am too loosing weight. I’m unbinding all those toxins and letting them flutter off into the universe by way of the sewer system, you grammar Nazi!

    Pisses me off too, though, even though I do it from time to time.

  2. Pingback: Signs of the time (or how I fit right in) « Caulk is Cheap

Leave a Reply

