I’m Overbooked

This past weekend was wonderful for Norm & I.  We went with his sister, brother-in-law, and their kids to a horse show about an hour away from our house.  Annie, his sister, brought her two miniature horses along to show, and Norm brought one of our horses, Cinnamon.  He also helped Annie show her horses, and they both got many ribbons–much to the chagrin of the circuit regulars.  This was the first real show for Norman to try competing in with the minis, and he did really well–2 third place ribbons, two fourth, one fifth, and one eighth.  Sunday, however, he rode Cinnamon–our baby, a beautiful mare with the temperament of a well-fed basset hound–and got 6th place out of 30 competitors . . . and this was his first time in one of those particular “trail” competitions! 

I spent the weekend helping them out, playing with the kids, taking copious pictures with Annie’s $500+ (I-want-one-so-bad-I-can-taste-it) camera and I got some terrific shots.  Unfortunately I can’t find my damned memory stick so can’t upload any right now. 

Anyhow, what with all of the excitement this weekend I lost out on a lot of time to do other things around the house (e. g. LAUNDRY) and shall have to tackle that for the next few nights.  So just in case I’m not able to profoundly discourse as I’m sure you have come to expect–stop that laughing, right now!–I thought perhaps I’d jot down what books I’m reading right now as that’s quicker than updating the sidebar pictures.  (That particular widget is a bear.)

On the shelf right now I have mostly fiction or lighter reading:

Thunderstruck by Eric Larson (which I just cannot seem to devote myself to even though I absolutely adored his previous book, Devil in the White City)

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (This is the second attempt for this one as well, but I’m enjoying it much more than previously.  I shouldn’t attempt large books when I’m this overwhelmed . . .)

The Sword Of Shannara Trilogy by Terry Brooks(25th Anniversary Hardcover Edition–I’ve never had the chance to read these novels, so when they came out in a hardcover edition through QPB {see sidebar} I had to get it and try it out.  Special edition contains Sword of Shannara, Elfstones of Shannara, Wishsong of Shannara.)

Armageddon’s Children, also by Terry Brooks

Dude, Where’s My Penis by John Wayne Bobbitt

(Last one was a joke, folks.)  

2 thoughts on “I’m Overbooked

  1. Nope. I’ve never read any of them. I have most of them but it just one of those things . . . never got around to it. So I’m starting at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

