A Little Kitchen Help

And now, one more random facet of the mystery that is me. 

I rarely talk about cooking on this blog, which is extremely odd now that I think about it.  I love to cook, and I love to eat, and can’t believe I haven’t put more of my family recipes out there for people to try.  I’ll try to remedy that soon.  For now, though, I thought I’d share a couple of helpful tips for beginning cooks out there. 

I’ve been meaning to reprint this chart for a while now. 

kitchen.jpg

When we moved into the house I left the old charts taped to the inside of the cupboard door, and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve needed these measurements and had to dig out a cookbook to find them.  You might want to do yourself a favor (especially if you like Baking) and do as I do: Print these charts and tape them to the inside of the cupboard.  You’ll always know where they are, they’re not in the way and take up no space at all, they won’t get dirty because they’re taped up off of the workspace/counter, and you will save loads of time.  If you click on the link above, Betty Crocker has it set up for you to print for your kitchen.  Trust me, do it.  The page also has these measures (but I can’t take a picture of the whole page at once, so I’ve broken it up.)

3 teaspoons = 1 tablespoon
4 tablespoons = 1/4 cup
5 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon = 1/3 cup
8 tablespoons = 1/2 cup
1 cup = 1/2 pint
2 cups = 1 pint
4 cups (2 pints) = 1 quart
4 quarts = 1 gallon
16 ounces = 1 pound
Dash or pinch = less than 1/8 teaspoon

If you don’t Bake, per se, then you may not need these.  I find them irreplaceable.  Especially since no matter how many sets of measuring spoons I buy, and no matter how much I fume about it, Norm consistently takes them to measure out chemicals for the aquarium. 

Grumble, grumble. 

So yeah, they’re helpful. 

3 thoughts on “A Little Kitchen Help

  1. Pingback: A Little More Kitchen Help « I Must Be Dreaming

Leave a Reply

