Turning Memes On Themselves

I’d better catch up with this or all sorts of things will besiege me.  However, my mother reads this blog so don’t expect anything too embarrassing!  lol

The first tag comes from The Artful Dodger:

The Rules: 

Each player starts with 7 random facts/habits about themselves. People who are tagged need to then report this on their own blog with their 7 things as well as these rules. They then need to tag 7 others and list their names on their blog. They are also asked to leave a comment for each of the tagged, letting them know they have been tagged and to read the blog.

The second tag comes from QuakerJono, called Pieces of Eight. 

The Rules: 

  • Post the rules, then list 8 things about yourself.
  • At the end of the post, tag and link to 8 other people.
  • Leave a comment at those sites, letting them know they’ve been tagged, and asking them to come read the post so they know what to do.

First seven, then  eight things about myself?  Good God, I’m not sure I can think of eight, but since the memes are so similar I think I can answer them both at once.  AND, since QJ said it “seems simple enough,” I’ll try–but I might play off his answers a bit.  Here goes:

1.  Unlike QJ, I actually can cook.  It wasn’t always that way, however.  I’ve learned a lot over the years, thanks to Norm (who learned to cook from his mother and makes a hell of a gravy), food network, and practice, practice, practice.  When I met Norm I couldn’t boil water for Kraft Mac&Cheese.  No, seriously.  I would always forget it on the stove and the water would boil down to nothing. 

2.  Number one reminds me of a funny story: when I moved into my first apartment after high school (and was still in the closet), I lived with a friend of mine named Jon.  One day we decided to make some popcorn.  Somehow we got the bright idea to go across the street to the grocery store within the next few minutes and left.  When we got back about an hour later the hallway of our building was filled with smoke and we thought there was an fire in our apartment.  We opened the door and I could immediately smell that it was burnt popcorn, so I opened the window, grabbed the popcorn pot (which was emmitting jets of smoke with the lid still on it!), and went through the window and  onto the roof of the bar next door.  We let the smoke out of the apartment with multiple fans and to this day I have never seen popcorn burnt as badly as this stuff was.  It had evidently popped and then burnt down until it was congealed into the equivalent of a hockey puck.  Moral: don’t cook after you try weed for the first time. 

3.  I was a vegetarian for three years.  I learned to appreciate a lot of different types of food in that time (babganoush and hummus, especially–and don’t bring me near tahini), but had to start eating meat again after I proved inable to gain enough iron from non-meat sources.  Peanut butter, legumes, spinach-nothing gave me enough protein and iron in my diet without meat.  And I had nutritionists helping me, so avid vegetarians need not tell me I “did it wrong.”  People’s body chemistries differ, and after 3 years of not eating meat I looked like a late-stage aids victim before there were retrovirals. 

4.  That was the same time that my mother so considerately decided to have a family portrait taken.  If I ever decide to go veggie again, I have a lovely reminder of just what that does to me hanging in the family room at Mom&Dad’s house.  Bright side: I look much better now.  😉

5. I have exceptionally eccentric musical taste.  I like to think I take after my mom’s father in this respect: he was a terrific jazz musician who played more instruments than I can remember–piano, bass, drums, trumpet, etc.–and who played with The Lettermen and a semi-famous local group, Don Fields and his Pony Boys.  I taught myself to play piano at a young age, was musical director of my college singing group, and have sung in numerous theatrical performances, both alone and in an ensemble, in musicals, bands, madrigal groups, community revivals, church groups, etc.  Music runs in my blood and I tend to like everything depending on my mood.  Except rap.  Which I call crap.  They just left the “c” off it. 

6. I have a secret recipe for Chili that has people begging me for the recipe.  It’s mom’s recipe with a few additions, and I’m taking it to my grave.  So stop asking. 

7.  My favorite author is Dan Simmons, but I try not to restrict myself to any one genre. 

8.  I learned to play poker at about 5 years old.  Both sides of my family are big card players, and it inevitably rubbed off.  Besides, not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty darned good at it.  I rarely lose, and the only amateur tournament I’ve ever played in I won handily.  Suckers. 

Now I have to send this to seven or eight people.  Well, let’s stick to people I talk to (who are probably all to busy to do this): 

  1. Kevin&Patrick (and I expect them BOTH to answer and gimme the twofer).
  2. Matt&Robbie (Ha!  Another twofer!)
  3. Keith (it’s about time he posts something)
  4. Wayne
  5. UrbanTechnocrat
  6. Matt

There.  That’s eight by my count. 

16 thoughts on “Turning Memes On Themselves

  1. Oh, I eat meat now. Plenty of it. The days of my moral qualms about meat eating have been replaced by a large bottle of A1 Steak Sauce!

  2. I honestly couldn’t come up with eight things. I couldn’t even make it to two things. And then I started asking people. You know it’s bad when you ask your bf to name something interesting about you, and you’re met with awkward silence, a nervous laugh, and then pointed diversion of the conversation.

    I’ll try, but it won’t be remotely interesting.

  3. Robbie:

    I really didn’t think I could either, but then I realized: aha! Childhood trauma!! Draw on that!!

    And then the pen just floooooooowed . . .

    Besides, I figured that if I did it this once that I could just point to this post the next time some blogger asks me to do it. Because I, too, hate these things.

  4. NDT is a thief!!! And I’m fairly sure he’s cheating at daily trivia as well. I have no proof, but as I’m not winning, it’s time to start throwing out baseless accusations at others!

  5. Pingback: Ummm « I Must Be Dreaming

Leave a Reply

