Free Audiobooks Downloads

Check out this neat site I found called LibriVox.  From their site:

LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain and release the audio files back onto the net. Our goal is to make all public domain books available as free audio books. We are a totally volunteer, open source, free content, public domain project.

More books and/or chapters are recorded every day.  And if you have some time to spare and think you’ve got the right timbre in your voice, why not have a go at volunteering to record some chapters yourself? 

I’m downloading The Red Badge Of Courage right now.  This should make the long commutes more enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “Free Audiobooks Downloads

  1. This is great. I have some tasks at work that are a bit repetitive and at a computer and during those times I listen with a headset, to CSPAN, NPR, etc. Now I can listen to someone reading to me. Now if it just doesn’t lull me to sleep, I’m all set.
    Thanks, Jamie! Free is always good.

  2. What a good idea. I’m ever amazed how technology (and the people behind it) improves our lives.

    As far as volunteering to read, I have a voice that makes small children cry.

  3. As far as volunteering to read, I have a voice that makes small children cry.

    That’s better than having a face that does the same. *rimshot*

    Thank you. I’m here all week. 😉

Leave a Reply

