A Surprise In The Mail

Usually when HarperCollins selects me for a book to review through the Firstlook program, I receive an email beforehand to let me know the proof is coming.  So imagine my surprise when I checked my mailbox last evening and found, though I’d gotten no notification, that I was indeed selected to receive a proof of Matthew Chapman’s 40 Days and 40 Nights. 

The book chronicles the 2005 court case Kitzmiller v. Dover Board of Education, wherein one Pennsylvania school district sued to include intelligent design in the curriculum.  (The eight members of that school board, btw, who were pro-ID, were summarily dumped by the voters of the district around the same time, bless their little humanist hearts.)  And Chapman, the author, just so happens to be the great-great-grandson of Charles Darwin himself. 

The court’s finding in the case:

Teaching intelligent design in public school biology classes violates the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States (and Article I, Section 3 of the Pennsylvania State Constitution) because intelligent design is not science and “cannot uncouple itself from its creationist, and thus religious, antecedents.”

While I find it amazing that in this day and age we need a court ruling to tell us that the Bible is not science, the scope and path of this new “Monkey Trial,” looks fascinating indeed.  I’ll let you all know how the book turns out. 

The Firstlook program is free and they only ask that you write a short review of the book you receive. 

Leave a Reply

