I Don’t Know Whether To Laugh or Cry

As much as I pick on the south, we Yankees own this bit of stupidity:

A New York elementary school teacher is suing a Long Island school district after she was fired because her administrators allegedly believed she was a witch teaching witchcraft to her students, reports Reid Lamberty of CBS station WCBS-TV in New York. . .

“Every school that I go to interview in I have to disclose to them that I was denied tenure for enticing children into witchcraft and magic,” Berrios says.

Even before she was fired, Berrios says her principal removed books from her classroom, including the popular series “Goosebumps,” as well as “Harry Potter.” She believes books that didn’t mesh with principal’s religious values, even including African-American literature, were taken out of her curriculum.

Can we all please take a really deep breath, hold it, then let it out slowly?  Because this type of overreaction is completely ludicrous.  Next thing you know they’ll catch the lunchlady skinning a chicken and accuse her of voodoo. 

If my hair wasn’t so thin already I’m sure I’d be pulling it out by now.

One thought on “I Don’t Know Whether To Laugh or Cry

Leave a Reply

