Hypocrisy Lives On

So Isaiah Washington had to go to “gay rehab” so he’d learn to not use the word “faggot.”  Why, then, is it permissible for Queerty to get away with it not once, but twice in the same article? 

Yeah, Washington was an idiot, then lied about it, and now thinks his contrived press-release apology and fake rehab are going to help.  Wrongo.  But just as many black leaders try to dissuade fellow blacks from using the “n-word” even within the community, so should gay “leaders” be scolding gays who use the latest “f-word.” 

‘Nuff said.

4 thoughts on “Hypocrisy Lives On

  1. It’s not hypocrisy it all, because it’s our word. It’s not nearly as clear-cut as you make it out to be. I use it all the time. Sometimes I describe myself as dressed “faggoty” when I dress, well, really gay.

    Is that wrong? I don’t think so. I don’t mean it in a bad way. I LOVE to dress faggoty. Every time I use it to mean homosexual, in a good way, it makes it hurt a little less the next time someone yells it at me (which is highly rare).

    I’m not sure how old you are, but this might be an age-gap issue. I know for people my age (early 20s) it’s not really a big deal, because most of us haven’t experienced a lot of heavy homophobia. Even in my hick high school I heard it maybe every couple of months. Older people have heard it a lot more in a negative way, I’m sure.

    Hell, I understand that for those who grew up way back when even “queer” has extremely negative connotations.

    For me it hurts a lot more when my little cousins use gay as an adjective meaning bad or lame because they’re (little) people I trust. Fag is just an epithet used by ignorant jerks (and progressive homosexuals).

  2. Adam is correct that the term is self-referential for many queer youth (as is, the word “queer” itself). It is like when a white person says to a black person:

    “Why can’t we use the N-word if you all use it 100 times a day?”

    Because it’s not contextually appropriate. The same word can have many different menaings when uttered in a different setting.

    Isaiah Washington’s “I’m not your little f—– like T.R.” was clearly meant as an insult at both Patrick Dempsey and T.R. Knight. It is clearly meant as an anti-gay attack, and there’s a possibility it also had racial overtones.

    When a young gay person says “We’re going to the f—– village” to each other, it’s little more than a reference to the fact that they’re going out tonight. It’s not meant in a derisive way (homosexuality = bad), and it’s certainly not tied to any racial or masculinity stereotypes.

  3. The same word can have many different meanings when uttered in a different setting.

    Precisely. And every time I hear the word “fag” I cringe because of the hate it carries with it. I’m only 33, but I prefer the word gay.

    Really, though, I just thought it posed an interesting question for discussion. As a hypothetical.

  4. Well, I must admit I have some discomfort with using the word “faggot” mayself. My own understanding of it is tied to experiences of Junior High School bullying. They stopped calling me that in High School when they realized they needed me for other reasons, but the negative association stuck.

    Nevertheless, it seems that for some people, “faggot” has become little more than a self-descriptor. It doesn’t mean they’re self-loathing or anything of the sort. They’re out of the closet, they have jobs, they are partnered… and they call themselves that.

    In spite of my discomfort, I can understand the reason behind using the word — a least a little bit. For instance, I know there’s a stigma attached to being called a “liberal” in this country nowadays, yet I still call myself a liberal (and proud) because I think the stigma is really an attempt to silence the opposition.

    I’m not a “progressive”, a “greenie”, a “values democrat”, a “bohemian”, or some PC dipshit like that…I am a liberal. We have a tradition for liberalism in the West going back to at least the Enlightenment. Why should we be ashamed to be guardians of that?

Leave a Reply

