Hyperion Cantos

What a deal!!  Not to shill for a book club that I have to PAY for my books, but SFBC.com currently has a deal on the Hyperion Cantos in a special bookclub hardcover edition.  Hyperion, by Dan Simmons, is without a doubt my favorite science fiction novel.  I laughed, I cried, I laughed some more, you get the picture.  It’s well written with classical and scifi allusions throughout, and it makes you think.  It won the Hugo (& I think a Nebula award as well).  I have read all four related novels (Hyperion, Fall of Hyperion, Endymion, Rise of Endymion) 5 times each.  I admit, I’m a huge Dan Simmons fanboy–I even got a free copy of Olympos to review for HarperCollins, and a review I wrote was published in the SFBC catalog . . .  But all of that is besides the point. 

cantos.jpgI just checked Amazon, and the Hyperion Cantos–which consists of Hyperion and its sequel Fall of Hyperion–goes for over $90.00 NEW.  SFBC is currently selling it (granted, “bookclub edition” size) for $15.99 for members.  If you ever make it a mission in your life to purchase only ONE scifi novel, this would be it.  (Well, the Foundation series by Asimov is invaluable as well, truth be told, but I’m talking MODERN scifi.) 

I know you have to join, but you can refuse your monthy choices each month online with no hassle.  And you keep apprised of the latest and upcoming scifi.  It’s worth it.  Go.  NOW. 

If you choose not to, well . . . choose again. 

4 thoughts on “Hyperion Cantos

  1. Heh, I’m actually rereading this right now in my SFBC edition from years ago. I love these two books, even though the appeal of the others in the series eludes me. That’s also unfortunately true for pretty much everything else he’s written. Still, the world of the Shrike and the Time Tombs and the cruciform is as vibrant and detailed today as it was when I first plowed through it.

  2. Hmph. If you didn’t finish Endymion and Rise of Endymion, then you probably didn’t get the “choose again” allusion. Ah, well. They’re definitely worth the read, even if not quite as captivating as Hyperion itself. It was always the pedantic poetry that got me, but the Cyborg Poet Keats is one of my all-time favorite characters anywhere.

    You can’t possibly tell me you didn’t like Olympos. Or Ilium. Maybe it’s my love of mythology, but those two were outstanding as well.

    Then again, I loved Summer of Night, and even the one with Mark Twain in Hawaii. Must be my fanciful imagination.

    Did you try the snowball game I posted today?

  3. Well, Ilium was a bit difficult at first but after I caught on to the fact that there were three separate stories being told (they intertwine very well when the shit hits the fan) I found it to be truly great stuff.

Leave a Reply

