Quickie:

I’ve been busy playing Final Fantasy V Advance for the GameBoyAdvance, so don’t have a lot of time to post right now, but I did want to mention a couple of things. 

red-mage.jpgOne, the game rocks.  The job customization is fantastic–highly reminiscent of FF Tactics for the original Playstation.  Each character starts out as a Freelancer–able to equip anything at all, but with no special skills.  As the game progresses, more job classes become available, and you are able to switch jobs at just about any time in order to customize each character to your liking.  One addition that I’ve never seen before is the class of Red Mage, which allows you to use both White Mage and Black Mage skills.  That’s something that I’d have loved to have been able to do with Yuna in FFX for the PS2.  But the mere fact that NO character is tied to any one job is a real high point for me.  You can have everyone learn White! and be able to cure or raise with everyone eventually, or have a pack of Mystic Knights who also know Red! and kick some major buttocks.  Heh.  Yeah, much geekage on my part.  Tough noogies.

Two, the dialogue is actually fairly–um, “hip?”–for a Final Fantasy game.  You can tell it was written (ataybabtu.jpg least in part) by someone who regularly uses conversational english.  That might not matter to you, but I find stilted english highly distracting when playing a videogame.  No more “All Your Base Are Belong To Us!” 

More later when I get further into the game, but it’s a lot of fun to be able to play on the go. 

TTFN.

3 thoughts on “Quickie:

  1. Red mages rock. While I loved my white mage/bard taru taru in FFXI (at least until I fell behind my leveling group and stopped playing in favor of a brief return to Dark Age of Camelot), red mage versitility, when played well, was freaking amazing. You sort of could set Yuna and even Lulu up as red mages in FFX, but not until pretty far into the game, so it wasn’t as worth it as it might have been sooner.

    So I should pick up FFX for my GBA? I’m working my way through FFXII right now so two FFs going at the same time might be a bit much. Plus, I never actually finished FFXI part II so I was wanting to get back to that as well. So much Final Fantasy goodness I don’t know what to do with myself!

  2. Heh. FFVI is going to be released fairly soon as well (for the GBA) so ya better get started!

    I should also point out that the replay value would seem fairly high for FFV, because of the customizability.

    Right now my whole party keeps getting slaughtered by the Chimera (or maybe it’s a Manticore…I think Dhomo Chimera, though). I’m trying to learn his AquaBreath Blue magic , but it wipes out most of my party’s points, and he keeps using it before I can heal the party enough to get him down to zero. Arrgh. Time to level them up, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

