Currently Reading . . .

Whilst I sit here enjoying C.S. Friedman’s Black Sun Rising, Terry Brooks’ Armageddon’s Children, and William Shatner’s Captain’s Blood–yes, it’s a scifi literature week for me–I thought I’d mention the release of Joe Maguire’s first book, “Brainless: The Lies and Lunacy of Ann Coulter.” 

It’s described by the publisher as an “unbridled look at a woman who twists the truth, misleads, plays loose with facts and allusions, and has been accused of plagiarism in hammering home her logic-defying arguments. ‘Brainless’ illustrates the dangers, ironies, and hypocrisies of the Mistress of Malice.” It also claims to include “source notes you can verify.”The book may be no walk in the park for bestselling author and columnist Coulter, but on its cover it does feature a rather flattering photo of her, long legs and all, in a park. As for its not so flattering and abrupt title: Perhaps all’s fair in book wars, given the names of Coulter books, including “Godless,” “Slander” and “Treason.”

(From EditorandPublisher)

And on a completely unrelated booknote, Dan Simmons’ The Terror is due out on January 7th, 2006.  Guess I can’t ask for it for Christmas, then.  *frown*

Here come the deriding comments about me reading Shatner, I bet. 

8 thoughts on “Currently Reading . . .

  1. Nonsense, Jamie, I would never make a deriding comment about you reading Shatner.

    I prefer to practice extreme denial and willful ignorace instead.

    Isn’t the weather lovely today? I think the sky is so blue and clear and the clouds are big and fluffy and the temperature is just right!

    See, uncomfortable and possibly shameful admission completely forgotten about.

  2. I thought for sure the mere fact that I used “Shatner” and “Literature” in the same sentence would condemn me forever. Hee hee.

    I confess, I like the StarTrek novels just as something to pass the time between harder books. What can I say. I am a product of my upbringing, and my Dad’s a big ‘ol Trekkie too.

  3. Obviously you don’t live where I do, silly. Cloudy outside.

    And besides, since I refuse to go off-topic, Shatner’s Star Trek novels are frankly more imaginative than most of the other ones. Not that that’s saying too much, but still. He’s a genius on Boston Legal.

    I think I’m going to go link to Shatner now.

    I guess the similarities found an end, eh QJ? lol

  4. And, to be fair, something I respect about Shatner is his ability to poke fun at himself and his own image. I even genuinely like watching him on T.V. and in movies. But I tried to read that Tekwar nonsense and it just made me feel like that time I was getting busy with my high school girlfriend and she snuck a finger up my ass and I liked it and she realized I liked it and both of us realized what that could mean and neither one of us could look each other in the eye anymore and we broke up a couple of days later and she ended up taking a 45 year old balding piano tuner to senior prom.

  5. *blinks*

    Er, yeah. Ok. Haven’t read Tekwar. Never had a girl do that, either. *whew*

    Tell me she didn’t have nails. Never mind. I don’t want to know. 😉

Leave a Reply

